First scenario attempt: Sadr City 2008

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
ForkInOutlet
ForkInOutlet's picture

While both relatively new to the game and the scenario editor; I am announcing the start of a current scenario project based on the the April-May assualt on the Sadr City neighborhood in Baghdad by Iraqi and US military units.  Opposing them were militias belonging to the Mahdi Army, commanded by Shia cleric Muqtada al-Sadr.  This is my first attempt at modding, and this thread will be where I post progress, ask questions, and work with the community.

Sadr city, an area spanning from...

"The southern third of the al-Thawra District consists of the relatively well-to-do Habbibiya and Jamila neighborhoods. Home to a large Sunni Kurdish population, this area hosts the Jamila Market, one of Baghdad’s largest. Jamila heaves with industry and commerce, its roads clogged with tractor trailers transporting goods from scores of factories, warehouses, and machine shops. Leaving Jamila, the district gets progressively grittier and more destitute as it moves northeast into Sadr City proper. The central al-Thawra Street transits endless sectors of dense residential housing and burgeoning crowds of thousands of idle young men. As megacities grow slums in their unclaimed peripheral land, Sadr City grows its own even more fetid slums. At al-Thawra Street’s culmination on Sadr City’s northeast edge, a wide canal of raw sewage delineates the sprawling shantytowns of Hay Tariq and Hay al Muntader, respectively dubbed “Squaretown” and “Triangletown” by U.S. troops. These squatter settlements, which grow at a viral rate, are home to the most impoverished, including many war refugees displaced by fighting elsewhere in Iraq."

Where...